Design of the Week – “La-La”

La-La

One of the greatest feelings in the world is seeing a new movie for the first time. Your only presumption is the opinions of others who have seen it before you. But the sights and sounds fill your brain with imagery you had never seen before. So much so that it can give you that feeling that you are watching something so unique unfold before you. What is even more pure is the memory of the first film you can ever remember watching. How excited it made you feel. And how as soon as it was done, you wanted to watch it again and find more to watch. To inspire. And to create.

A few weekends ago, I had the opportunity to see an incredible film in the theater. It was called La La Land. And it was as incredible as if I was watching a film for the first time in my life all over again.

Director Damien Chazelle did a magnificent job (along with the entire creative brain behind this film) of bringing this film to life.From the vibrant colors to the songs I still have stuck in my head weeks later, this film is one I will cherish for a very long time. I highly recommend going to see it the minute you have an opportunity to do so.

The film, overall, reminded of the classic movie musicals of the 1940s and 50s. Which was the driving force behind this design. I wanted to create piece that encompassed everything I loved about the movie. So I used one of my favorite scenes (the opening number “Another Day of Sun”) and turned it into a vibrant poster filtered into a classic poster from the golden age of film.

This film was made to inspire others, and it has certainly done that for me. And I hope I can continue to do that for others through the work I create.

Have a great week!

-Adam

Leave a Reply

